Railway Routes

One of the largest as well as the busiest railway networks in the world, Indian railways features an intricate route. The routes of Indian Railway are categorised on the basis of the zones of the Indian railway. Presently, there are Seventeen divisions of the Indian Railways zones. These are further categorised into divisions to determine the railway routes more succinctly. During, its inception in 1853 by the British, the primary Indian Railway zones are Central, East Central, East Coast, Eastern, North Central, North Eastern, North Western, Northeast, Northern, South Central, South East Central, South Eastern, South Western, Southern, West Central and Western railways. There has been separate headquarters for each of these railway zones in the important city stations of that zone. All the train routes of that specific zone was controlled by the headquarter of that specific zone. Since its inception till date, Railways has been the most availed transportation in India. A lot of measures are being adopted on a regular basis to develop the India railways.

The main reason for this intricate railway routes is that a good number of outstation trains connect different Indian states. For example the local trains, which pass through almost all the routes of Indian railway zones.

The Government of India owns and looks after the entire operation of Railways in India. Several facilities have been arranged for the passengers of all the routes so that they have a comfortable journey. With new projects and services introduced more often, all the railway routes of India can offer the latest comforts to the travelers. Apart from the Indian citizens, a large number of foreigners also avail railway services every now and then. Computerized reservation facilities, online reservations, easy cancellation procedures, proper retiring rooms, catering services on trains and numerous such services are offered to the passengers in all routes of Indian Railway.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *